project life 2014 – week 1

week 1 sneak

Welcome to Project Life – Week 1! Since I wanted to start our 2014 album on January 1 this first week is a short week. We had a fun weekend adventure to Spokane with my dad. Most of the photos on the layout came from our weekend.

I had my journaling from those couple days written out on a piece of scratch paper. I knew I wouldn’t be able to handwrite it to fit on two 3×4 journaling cards. I initially thought about condensing it and cutting out some of the excess chatter but that didn’t feel authentic to what I wrote in the moment.

So, a couple ideas for when you’ve got more to say than what you can fit on a 3×4 journaling card. You could write your thoughts on a bi-fold journaling card, fold it and slip it into the 3×4 pocket. I like to take a bi-fold card, keep it open, add my journaling and slide it into a 4×6 slot. All the journaling can be seen easily and I like the look of it.
bifold journal card
Sometimes though you don’t want to use up precious 4×6 real estate with a journaling card when you’ve got a photo for that spot! : ) On occasion I’ll take a digital journaling card file, open it in Photoshop Elements, add my text to the card and print it out like I did on the two cards this week. And on one card here.
PL type card
You can also run a physical card through the printer. There are tutorials online like this fantastic one from paislee press on how-to print on journaling cards.

Back to Week 1. Here is the full 2 page spread. You can click on the photograph for a clearer image.
week 1 on background

And each individual side.
week 1 L
week 1 R

The kit I used this week is the Sunshine Edition. You can find a Project Life retailer here or find the entire line of products here. Project Life was created by Becky Higgins. You can find out all about this awesome approach to memory keeping here.

I’m planning on sharing my Project Life spreads here weekly. My weeks run Monday through Sunday. I usually complete last week on the Monday or Tuesday right after. The trick is getting it photographed to share. I’ve tried several different methods and the best, for me, is on our back patio. We’ve got yellow walls (yes, yellow!) in the house and they cast an off color to the photos of the layouts. Taking them outside means that it can’t be too cloudy, too rainy, too much of an inversion, too bright or in a case like today the wind can’t be blowing at 60-70 mph! This gives me about a week to hope for decent weather (a little tougher this time of the year) and hope that I’m home at the time to take advantage of it and photograph the layout. So my hope is weekly but I know life and other goodness will interfere with that on occasion. I’ll look forward to sharing with you throughout the year! As always, if you have any questions at all, please ask.

8 thoughts on “project life 2014 – week 1

  1. I LOVE week one! Totally enjoyed your photos, your story, your layout~amazing! Sounds like a fabulous week! You are doing incredible things for Project Life! Thanks for being you! Love you!

  2. Love the flowers and pink – are those all from Sunshine? Adding to my list of must haves.
    I’m considering trying a little digi this year. Hoping I can manage without photoshop but I think it’s a good way to get pieces of so many of the wonderful PL kits. I was just thinking how clear and beautifully photographed your pages were. Now I know your trick – and perhaps my problem. Yellow walls here too.

    • Yes, Karina, those cards on week 1 are all from the Sunshine Edition. I agree, the digital files would be perfect for that, I totally think it’s doable without Photoshop. LOL on your yellow walls! I love them but man do they create havoc in the tones of my photographs!

  3. Hi Annette, I found your blog through the CT links on BeckyHiggins.com. 🙂 I love your PL pages and LOVE the fact that your son is doing his own album too! I purchased a mini-album for my 8-year-old son last year, but he hasn’t really started on it yet. He’s thinking about making a “best dinners ever” book with photos and recipes. Anyway… I’ve been doing PL for the last two years, and I have been searching for a weekly link-up to share the pages I post to my blog and get inspiration from other Project Lifers. So far, this year, I haven’t been able to find one! I am wondering if maybe that might be something you would consider hosting on your blog. 🙂 Either way, I am looking forward to seeing more of your layouts!

    • Hi Jenny! Thank you so much for your sweet comments! I love the idea of a “best dinners ever” book with photos and recipes! Really love it! : )

      I did a little searching for you and the website I had in mind that was hosting a weekly PL link-up last year doesn’t look like they are doing it anymore. One resource you may already know of is Big Picture Classes. They have a Project Life Community that you can find here http://www.bigpictureclasses.com/projectlife.php where you can share your pages and connect with others that are doing Project Life. My other thought is Instagram. You may already know of it and/or share there. The hashtag #projectlife has a ton of inspiration and people will often link back to their blogs there.

      I’m honestly not sure how to even go about hosting a link up here! I will do a little research and see what I can learn. That could be fun! I’ll let you know if I come up with any other information.

      Thanks again!

  4. Hi Annette – I too found you from Becky’s CT page, and was curious when I saw you were from Washington. I’m loving your layouts, and have bookmarked you for future reference…been a long time scrapper, but 2014 is my first year with Project Life! I’m excited to see what you do next. And, as it turns out, I think we might be neighbors! Well, at least just across the river 🙂

Leave a Reply

