project life 2014 – week 3

PL week 3 sneak

Welcome to Project Life – Week 3! I’ve seen a lot of questions lately regarding using different style page protectors. Specifically, when you’ve used something different (say Design I, in my case last week) than you normally do (like Design A) how do you handle that the following week? I think it’s a great question. In my case this week I knew I’d have less space overall for photos. For the title card I used the side that would generally be for vertical orientation and trimmed off the top 2 inches. I filled one 4×4 pocket by trimming down a 4×6 photograph and the other with a photograph from Instagram. You’ll see that layout at the end of this post.

It can be a little trickier when you’ve used a style like Design B. Here’s a few ideas for filling those vertical pockets. Sometimes it encourages me to think outside the box like I did here with a series of ‘first day of school’ photos of Lance from Pre-K through his first day of this school year, 4th grade.
week 35c

I adore this idea by Elise Blaha Cripe. You could fill each slot with a 4×6 card or patterned paper. I’m going to use one soon just so I can fill it with 4×6 cards!

I love that they now design the title cards to go either way. It’s easy to slide one in the vertical pocket and iPhone photos shot vertically translate well into a vertical 4×6 pocket like the photograph of the Space Needle.
week 44c

For this page I cropped what was a 4×6 horizontal photograph for the pocket on the left and enlarged a 4×6 horizontal photograph for the middle and right pocket.
week 29c

And now back to sharing Week 3. The full 2 page spread, you can click on the photograph for a little clearer image.
PL week 3

The kit I used this week is the Seafoam Edition. You can find a Project Life retailer here or find the entire line of products here. Project Life was created by Becky Higgins. You can find out all about this awesome approach to memory keeping here.

3 thoughts on “project life 2014 – week 3

  1. Looking at your Week 2 then at your Week 3 helped me understand your tips for trimming and filling slots when you’re using a different page protector. Cool! Your photographs and journal cards are always beautiful and fun. This week is no exception. The photograph of you and your co-workers dressed in your Seahawks gear caught my eye. Love the energy in your workplace!

  2. I love that sequence of Lance over the years. That is so very cool and great you had the same background every time. I wish I’d thought to do that. But my son hasn’t been very good at having his 1st day of school photos taken, so I had to make do with what I could get. I can imagine stretching that sequence over his whole school life.

Leave a Reply

