project life 2014 – week 30 + making weekday journaling cards

week 30 sneak

Welcome to Project Life – Week 30! I love this Project Life spread by Ali Edwards and was so inspired by it. Those week day cards, they’re just so awesome, right? After hearing the die cuts were sold out almost everywhere and having no luck shopping all my local stores for them, I made some similar cards. I’m sharing how I did these below.

The full 2 page spread. You can click on the photograph for a clearer image.
week 30 desktop

Here are the items I used to make the cards.
Amy Tangerine’s Plus One Element Pack 1 from AC digitals.
3×4 Project Life Grid Journaling Card. Download that free here.
Project Life 4×6 white cards. LOVE the quality of these cards, available here.

The steps.
Step 1: Open the elements and the grid card in your photo editing program. I’m using (a very old version of) Photoshop Elements. If you don’t have something similar you can download a free 30-day trial of the latest version of PSE here.
Step 1

Step 2. Drag the element onto the grid card. I like to add a guide marking the exact middle of the grid card so it’s easy to line the element up centered. Flatten the image. For the horizontal journaling cards I rotated the grid card 90 degrees before adding the element.

Step 3. Under File open up a new Blank File and size it to 6×4 inches with a resolution of 300. Drag your first card onto this file.
Step 3

Step 4. Make your next card and drag it onto the same file. Flatten image. At this point I saved this as a JPEG on my desktop ready to print.
Step 4

There are a variety of ways you could now print these. I added the Project Life white cards to the photo tray on my printer and printed the JPEGs onto those. The quality of these cards is fantastic for writing on. Now you can cut them in half, round the corners and repeat.

I seriously love them. Love the script, love the colors, and I love the subtle grid for journaling on. I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have and I’d love to see them if you try it!

And each individual side of Week 30.
week 30 L
week 30 R

The mini kit I used this week is the Plus One Edition from the same Amy Tangerine collection as the elements. You can find a Project Life retailer here or find the entire line of products here. Project Life was created by Becky Higgins. You can find out all about this awesome approach to memory keeping here.

3 thoughts on “project life 2014 – week 30 + making weekday journaling cards

  1. I love that your dad got you the new fiesta ware colors. How great to keep the tradition going. I have to laugh, because about a year and a half ago, my dad decided he wanted to get fiesta ware. We bought plates (etc) in 6 different colors and had to make sure each person had one of each color. Meaning 3 red, 3 blue, etc. It was pretty funny because prior to that we had only owned white dishes. Talk about a big change from someone who usually doesn’t get into stuff like that. haha!

  2. Pingback: project life 2014 – weeks 31 & 32 | annette spaniel

  3. Pingback: project life 2014 – week 44 | annette spaniel

Leave a Reply

